Rewriting Your Own Story

There is this short story that I wrote when I was in high school. Sadly, I have no copy of my own story. The only copy is stored in a room on our school, some 10 to 12 hour-drive away. It’s been at least a decade since I read it.

A week ago, I found out that one of my friends in high school has a soft copy of the story. (I don’t know how he got it)

On my way home yesterday, I tried to recall the story.

… and I decided to rewrite the story.

The story was written by a high school student, and some scenes are not that believable.

That night, I got the copy from my friend and then got ready to write.. but first, I must refresh my mind with the story. I read the first page, and then the next..

As I read through the pages, I can see the younger version of me. Very inspired and full of ideas. I can see that the younger me has a very wide imagination…and this story is the proof of it. Many of the scenes may not be very believable today, but it was back then when I have written it.

Finishing the story was very nostalgic.

I learned that if I rewrite this, this old version might not have the same effect to me if I read it again in the next ten years.

I decided then not to rewrite it. But to write a different story instead.

 
9
Kudos
 
9
Kudos

Now read this

Penguini

We were up on a hill, On the night of the soothing star. I wrapped my hands tightly around her Wishing that this night could last forever. There was a very long pause. Then she said to me, I never wanted this night to end. I never... Continue →