Will You Save A Stranger?

It was raining hard that day. I was driving my way to the city. At front is another car that was driving a little faster. Kind of dangerous on this kind of weather, I thought.

We were driving on a hill, about 1 or 2 miles away from the office. We were then closing to a sharp curve. Below the curve is a 50 to 60 foot drop. I hit the brakes and slowed down. I was ready to take the turn.

..the car on front of me however, did not seem to slow down at all. It seems like the car was out of control!

It continued moving forward and then lunged towards the drop.


I was having dinner with my close friend when he told me this story. I asked him, “What happened next?”.

He then told me the next part of the story.


I pulled over to inspect. It was still pouring hard, making me unable to see clearly.

Luckily, the car seemed to hang on to a big branch of a tree that was growing horizontally on the side of the cliff. The vehicle’s positioned in a way that the driver’s side door is facing upwards.

I tried to open the door. But it is very difficult with my position on the cliff. …the branch might break anytime soon. So I decided to stand on the vehicle, so I can pull the door using my full weight.

I began to climb. Then hastily opened the door. The man and I managed to get back on the cliff safely.


I was shocked when I heard what he did. “What if the car suddenly fell?!” I asked, angrily.

“I would know by feeling it… and I would get out of there before that would happen.”

I fell silent.

How could a man risk his life for someone who he hasn’t met yet? And then later on, casually tell the story like it was just an ordinary day. Honestly, if I was in that situation, I would try to help too. But I am not yet in the area wherein I’d give my life trying to save someone else’s.

Later on, I grew up and saw my friend in very different way. How he lived. How he appreciate the small things. How he gives his trust to people he just met.

“Faith in humanity”, as they say.

There were times that I see the man and my friend exchange smiles when they come across each other.

It’s been more than a week since I saw my friend. Four days more and I will see him again.

He’s a big part of what I am now. He’s my dad.

 
12
Kudos
 
12
Kudos

Now read this

Soothing Star

This story is something that I came up with about two years ago, and just had the time to actually write it (for someone). Wrote this in one seating, but removed the main character’s love interest to minimize the story. PART ONE The... Continue →